The people of Lamberhurst are horrified!

We went to Lamberhurst funfair, making a special journey there, as it was so picturesque. It was perfect for a family funfair shot. Started taking the photos and Barry started to get nervous, as he had noticed that there was a crowd gathering in the distance. I was so involved in taking the shots that I was oblivious to it.  Anyway, eventually one of the men came over  and put his car lights on to try to ruin our shoot. I didn’t realise at the time that that was what he was trying to do. It was only later, when he then came over to ask what we were doing, that I realised. I had assumed they were interested in the project and explained that it was a photo shoot for an art project. He said that it was drawing a crowd and upsetting people. That there were families and children there. To which I replied, “just explain its a photo shoot”. Anyway then one of the mothers came over and said “We are horrified!”
I was completely baffled, surely there are worse things to be horrified about than me taking a picture of a doll! But I also felt quite upset and embarrased too, so packed up and left.

I actually quite like the effect of the car lights in the foreground. This is the picture I took with the car lights on.


Leave a Reply

