More about my exhibition in Brighton photo fringe

“Photo’s I’ll never take” Exhibition as part of Brighton photo fringe, 6.10.12- 17.11.12 Thursday to Sunday, 10am to 4pm at Mishon Mackay offices, 99-101 Dyke Road, Seven Dials, Brighton, BN1 3JD

I will be creating an installation in the former offices of an estate agent. Although in the first week, I will be sharing the space with them, until they move out. Mishon Mackay are very kindly supporting me with the exhibition and have been very kind. I will be turning the space into a home. It will contain typical family photos and objects. I will be continuing to work on the project while I am there.

Below is my introduction to a family album I will be creating, while I am there.

“The subject of this ongoing project work is the family I will never have. Hence the title “Photos I will never take”.  I have constructed a fictional narrative of an alternative life with children, to create a series of typical family tableaux. This involved searching out appropriate locations; using myself, my husband, other family members, props and a shop mannequin of a child. The events are to have been taken over the period of approximately one year.

The photos are the intended end product, but the act of creating the photos is also a piece of performance art. By buying clothes, selecting outfits and taking “our child” out to child appropriate activities, I am projecting my own childhood memories on to the “child” in much the same way as a real parent.  The photos are intended to have some of the aesthetic of the snapshot, but to also be idealised. A family album is the perfect setting for the photos. ”

Image

Please share with people who might like to come.


Leave a Reply

